Cantley wins PGA Tour Player of the Year award on Rahmo

Patrick Cantley named Players’ Choice as PGA Tour Player of the Year

Patrick Kentley was named the PGA Tour Player of the Year on the basis of his four wins, including a shot advantage at East Lake that made him FedEx Cup champions.

Tuesday’s announcement was another big step for the 29-year-old Californian Cantley, who, being the No. 1 amateur in the world, was unable to play for some three years due to a career-threatening back injury.

He now has the Jack Nicklaus award for his best season after a huge finish. Cantley won four times this season, limited by the FedEx Cup. No one else won more than twice.

The PGA Tour doesn’t release vote totals or how many players have even voted. It was probably a tight race between Kentley and the world No. 1 player Jon Rahm.

In the Tour Championship, Rahm finished one shot behind Cantley, where the Spaniard began the tournament four shots behind. He achieved his first major at the US Open this year with a birdie-birdie finish. Rahm had a six-shot lead in the final round of the Memorial until he withdrew with a positive COVID-19 test.

Meanwhile, Rahm won the PGA of America award as Player of the Year. It is based on points, with three times the value for winning a major.


More AP Golf: and—Sports


Source link

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Putin in self-isolation due to COVID cases in inner circle


Kroger, Instacart team up on new 30-minute delivery service