Finnish pair Rovanpera, Höltunen win Acropolis rally

The Finnish contingent of Kalle Rovanpera and Jonne Hultunen has won the Acropolis rally after most of the four-day World Rally Championship race.

ATHENS, Greece – After leading the majority of the four-day World Rally Championship race, the Finnish team of Kale Rovanpera and Jonne Hultunen won the Acropolis rally.

Rovanpera’s victory comes less than two months after he became the youngest winner in WRC history by winning Rally Estonia at the age of 20.

After nine out of 12 rounds of the WRC, Ogier leads the standings on 180 points, ahead of Elfin Evans with 136, and Thierry Neuville on 130. Rowanpera (129 points) and Tanak (106) are ranked fourth and fifth respectively.

In the Manufacturers Championship, Toyota Gazoo (397 points) is ahead of Hyundai Shell (340) and M-Sport Ford (153).

The 15-stage Acropolis Rally was held for the first time since 2013. The return Thursday was celebrated with a crowd-pleasing, if small, special stage around Athens’ main Syntagma Square, which was won by Ogier. Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis begins the race at the foot of the Acropolis.

In addition to the often challenging terrain, drivers had to contend with onlookers standing too close to the road.


More AP Auto Racing: and—Sports


Source link

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The Surgeon General just issued this “danger” warning

cd475950 13e0 11ec bf99 6e764942c469

Masked Kim Kardashian stuns fans with head-to-toe black leather look: ‘Is this fashion?’